Looking back on a year

About a year ago, I began editing and writing on this blog. After a year, I find myself surprised that a year has already gone by, and that I am still doing it. When I initially agreed to start working on this blog, I thought I would try it out and maybe do it for a month or so. Instead, here I sit an entire year later continuing to enjoy exploring interconnections between symbolic interactionism, music, and society.

Although Interactionists do not often spend much time with numbers, the ones captured by this site in the past year suggest my work on the blog has been fruitful to date, and I hope to continue that pattern. Comparing the past few years on the site, every measure – views, visitors, likes, and comments – went up quite a bit in the past year from previous amounts. I have also gotten to use insights from comments, my posts, and other interactions generated in this process in classrooms, conversations with scholars hoping to do work focused on music, and in my private life. Last May, I admit I would not have expected these experiences, and I’m quite grateful for them as each such interaction has in one way or another facilitated my own ongoing development as a writer, scholar, and music fan.

At the same time, I have realized over the past year that I am unlikely to run out of topics and posts at any point. In the little time I took off from posting over the past month or so, for example, I attended the annual record store day festivities in Atlanta, Georgia, a handful of concerts, and some interesting conversations about music and society. At the same time, I’ve witnessed the societal reactions at the death of Prince and the release of Beyonce’s latest work, and discussions these events generated in my classes and online. As a result, I begin my second year on this blog more comfortable with the idea of this type of discussion representing an ongoing element of my work and life.

With these things in mind, I put a cap on the first year I spent on the SSSI music blog, and look forward to the next. I’m thankful to all the readers and commenters – both those who publicly comment and others who have reached out to me privately – and I’ll be back in the next couple weeks with new posts, discussions, and analyses. In the meantime, I spend my days enjoying my Sociology of Music class, listening to records, and thinking about the ways music shapes and is shaped by our individual and collective social worlds.

J. Sumerau

About Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction - Blog

The Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction (SSSI) is an international professional organization of scholars interested in the study of a wide range of social issues with an emphasis on identity, everyday practice, and language.
This entry was posted in Blog, Music, music sssi, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Looking back on a year

  1. Thanks for writing the blog, Jason. You are doing a fantastic job.

  2. Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction - Blog says:

    Reblogged this on Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction Blog and commented:

    Jason Sumerau has kept the SSSI Music Blog for the past year. If you did not follow it, please go here: https://sssimusic.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

